Vintage shoots and nervous breakdowns

Hi guys

Well, what an eventful few days I have had here… I have had euphoric highs here at Popoffs – and also I have sunk so low that all I want to do is lie in the fetal position until I die… Fucking depression has bit me on the arse and I’m suffering bad – and its getting harder each day to get up and function as not only am I down BUT the anxiety is back in a big bad way -(have been up until 3 some mornings as heart beat going ten to the dozen) – but thankfully I have my  gorgeous son to look at and stops me doing something stupid – I feel blessed to have such a beautiful anchor in my life. I am also blessed that we are FINALLY getting the help I have been screaming out for since my son was a toddler thanks to James school … So I’m still trying to keep the faith!

Anyway. Enough of the morose bullshit!  There has been some fab times since I last blog!! And Im not sure where to start!!

Lets start with the photoshoot I done on Wednesday. I decided that its about time I got back into taking the photos for Popoffs as Its been such a long time since I have, and I had lost confidence with my camera. So I arranged a shoot with our usual model  -the lovely Annas’ – beautiful sister Holly.. and what with the amazing new Kings steps we have in Margate, I think the results are quite lovely even though it was Hollys’ first time and I was highly anxious taking the pics!

Image

We love the way this 50’s dress is sooo Alice in Wonderland – and is still available on asos marketplace here https://marketplace.asos.com/listing/dresses/pretty-vintage-50s-alice-in-wonderland-style-circle-dress/831375

Also love this photo – 1970s gypsy dress in a beautiful print cotton – and the steps add the special lines that I love in photos ( Im inspired by Wolfgang Tllmans)

Image

We also was involved in another shoot today – although I didnt take any pics but just dressed Anna – and cant wait to see the pics!!

Another (possibly) fab thing happened this week as well – but bear with me as I tell the story to explain it!

Right – as you may know, I am a single mum, and have been (apart from the 3 years with the ex) since I was pregnant with my lovely James. Now, when I was living on the 8th floor in a  tower block in Erith ( I have lots of tales about THAT time!) I got  a place at London College of Fashion to study on an access course for fashion and media make up ( Yes, Im actually a make up artist although am a crap one !) Anyhoo… as I was on benefits – I couldn’t afford the books and make up kit that we required to participate on the course, so I decided to write copious begging letters to every trust fund and person I could think of to help me and one of them was a charity called Trust Thamesmead. Well, to cut a long story short… they helped me, so therefore I was on their “list” – and then one day a film company contacted them to get local people to help out on a short film being shot in the area directed by Andrea Arnold. After an interview  with the costume designer (more about her later) I was given the job as costume assistant, and had to go around Woolwich and the like taking pics as research for aforementioned costume designer. I also had to be wardrobe assistant and got to learn loads as was only me and designer ( who only went and won an OSCAR this year! ) so not only did I get to learn shit loads about working in film but I also got to know the lovely lady teaching me all this amazing stuff…And she inspired me so much that I decided that Make up wasnt for me but confirmed my love for clothes and is partly the reason why Madam Popoffs is open!

However – after all this excitement and working with all the fab people i did work with…I lost everyones number. But – this week I found my old filofax and low and behold… I had Jacqueline Durrans’ number in it.. So I text, and she replied , so now she knows I got a shop full of vintage and fingers crossed I can get a foot in the door into one of my dreams (she designed Kiera Knightleys AMAZING Green dress in Atonement – Yes – she is an OUTSTANDING woman!) As they say, It ain’t what you you , but who you know!

And the other fantastic thing to happen for me this week was this retweet from my lovely bearded sweetheart – Chas

Capture chas love

Things like this keep me going!!!

Also had an amazing weekend with my new friends Felicity and also Lois – and we are stockists of Felicitys nans turbans of which she knits herself and all the proceeds go back to Sybil as she is in her 80s so please support our elders as if it wasnt for them we wouldnt be able to do what we can nowadays x

3544_498370646877975_835218296_n

Just fabulous…..

Thanks for listening (or reading) and hope to have more positive readings for you again soon

Keeping the faith in Margate  xx

3 thoughts on “Vintage shoots and nervous breakdowns

  1. I have just started reading your blog & I love it. So honest & fresh & inspiring. I think you are doing brilliantly in your shop & with the photos, such hard work and talent. And it’s even more of an achievement given your struggles – brave to share them on here. I am a child & adolescent psychotherapist so I do understand some of what you are experiencing. And in case you are wondering who I am, I was the girl with the red dress that you recently sold thanks to your clever marketing! Please have a look at my website (www.seapsychotherapy.co.uk) & facebook group (sea psychotherapy) & let me know what you think. Big love x

  2. Oh hello you! Thanks ever so much for your kind words – my vocabulary isnt as good as it was, but Im having a good go and trying to keep it real! Have checked out your sites – how interesting. I had psychotherapy before my mum died – and it really helped cure me of panic attacks and my depression – then I had a whole series of shit happen hence being of a nervous disposition now.. but Im trying to be positive and going to get back on the gym therapy as that really helped me (and stop beering it!) x

Leave a Reply

